Loading Events

« All Events

Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium 2023

April 24 @ 8:00 am - April 25 @ 5:00 pm

2023 Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium logo


Joseph Wu Welcome to 2023 Stanford Drug Discovery Symposium. This symposium provides a valuable and important platform for inspiring interdisciplinary exchange at the forefront of drug research and will support a fantastic networking experience. It provides a great resource for researchers, pharmaceutical companies, investment groups, and those in the wider biomedical community interested in discovering new drugs and improving patient care. We look forward to an exciting two days of talks and discussion.

— Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD | Director, Cardiovascular Institute






Hal Barron

Hal Barron, MD

CEO, Altos Labs

Nancy Brown

Nancy Brown

CEO, American Heart Association

Kevin Conroy

Kevin Conroy, JD

Chairman and CEO, Exact Sciences

Mikael Dolsten

Mikael Dolsten, MD, PhD

CSO and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical, Pfizer

Yvonne Greenstreet

Yvonne Greenstreet, MBChB, MBA

CEO, Alnylm Pharmaceuticals

Sandra Horning

Sandra Horning, MD

Board of Directors: Gilead, Moderna, & Olema Pharma. Co-Founder and Advisor, EQRx

Fady Malik

Fady Malik, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President of Research & Development, Cytokinetics

Fiona Marshall

Fiona Marshall, PhD

President, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research

Frank Nestle

Frank O. Nestle, MD, FMedSci

Global Head of Research, Chief Scientific Officer, Sanofi

Andrew Plump

Andrew Plump, MD, PhD

President, R&D, Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Jim Tananbaum

Jim Tananbaum, MD

CEO and Founder, Foresite Capital Management, LLC

Monica Beam

Monica Beam, PhD

Senior Vice President, Science & Technology, Alexandria Real Estate Equities

Namandje Bumpus

Namandje Bumpus, PhD

Chief Scientist, FDA

Louis J. DeGennaro

Louis J. DeGennaro, PhD

President & CEO, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

James Doroshow

James Doroshow, MD

Deputy Director for Clinical and Translational Research, National Cancer Institute

Aida Habtezion

Aida Habtezion, MD

CMO and Head of Worldwide Medical & Safety, Pfizer

Najat Khan

Najat Khan, PhD

Chief Data Science Officer & Global Head, Strategy and Operations, R&D, The Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson and Johnson

Mathai Mammen

Mathai Mammen, MD, PhD

Executive Vice President, Pharmaceuticals, R&D, Johnson & Johnson

Maria T. Millan

Maria T. Millan, MD

President and CEO, CIRM

Daniel O’Day

Daniel O’Day, MBA

Chairman and CEO, Gilead Sciences

George W. Sledge

George W. Sledge, MD

Executive Vice President and CMP, Caris Life Sciences

Marc Tessier-Lavigne

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD

President and Bing Presidential Professor
Stanford University

Robert A. Bradway

Robert A. Bradway, MBA

Chairman & CEO, Amgen

Patrizia Cavazzoni

Patrizia Cavazzoni, MD

Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, FDA

Francis deSouza

Francis deSouza, MA

CEO Illumina

Levi Garraway

Levi Garraway, MD, PhD

Executive VP, Head of Product Development, and Chief Medical Officer, Genentech/Roche

Alexander Hardy

Alexander Hardy, MBA

CEO, Genentech

John Lepore

John Lepore, MD

Senior Vice President of Research, GlaxoSmithKline

Peter Marks

Peter Marks, MD, PhD

Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Lloyd Minor

Lloyd Minor, MD

Carl and Elizabeth Naumann Professorship for the Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Merdad Parsey

Merdad Parsey, MD, PhD

Chief Medical Officer, Gilead

Lip-Bu Tan

Lip-Bu Tan, MBA

Managing Partner, Walden Catalyst

Steve Yang

Steve Yang, PhD

Co-CEO, WuXi AppTec

Fireside Chat with Nobel Laureates

Carolyn Bertozzi

Carolyn Bertozzi, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2022; Baker Family Director of Stanford ChEM-H

Paul Berg

Paul Berg, PhD

Nobel Laureate 1980; Robert W. and Vivian K. Cahill Professor of Research, Emeritus, Stanford University

Jennifer Doudna

Jennifer Doudna, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2020; Li Ka Shing Chancellor’s Chair Professor at UC Berkeley

Roger Kornberg

Roger Kornberg, PhD

Nobel Laureate 2006; Mrs. George A. Winzer Professor of Medicine, Stanford University

Brian Kobilka

Brian Kobilka, MD

Nobel Laureate 2012; Helene Irwin Fagan Chair of Cardiology, Stanford University


April 24 @ 8:00 am
April 25 @ 5:00 pm
Event Category:


Northern California


Paul Berg Hall, Li Ka Shing Center, Stanford University
291 Campus Drive
Stanford, CA 94305 United States
+ Google Map